Timeless Advice I Wish I’d Followed Earlier in My Career

1. Learn to smile at trouble

Michael Thompson
7 min readDec 10, 2020

--

“Knowing what you know now, if you could go back to when you were about to graduate from college and give yourself advice, what would you say?”

I was asked this question a few weeks ago while giving a Zoom talk to university students in the US. After I was done, one of the students suggested I expanded my short speech into a long-form article.

In addition to choosing hobbies that strengthened my brain cells instead of ones that killed them, below are the pieces of advice I touched upon along with a few extras I’ve been thinking about.

1. Learn to smile at trouble

One of my closest childhood friends has built and sold multiple 8-digit businesses. A few years ago when I asked him for his best piece of career advice he gave a hat tip to a woman he worked under when he started his career —

“I need 3 things from you while we‘re going through this troubling time. I need you to be punctual. I need you to be present. And I need you to be positive.”

Getting angry when things go wrong is the easy choice. However, the people who make an…

--

--

Michael Thompson

Co-creator of two cool kids • Storytelling Coach •.Fast Co., Insider, Forbes • Free storytelling guide here: https://bit.ly/3h1KZeT